About sharing

Updated 7 months ago by Jaspreet Bakshi

What is sharing?

Sharing is what allows team members to see one another's relationship data. Members of the same team will be able to opt in to sharing their relationships, relationship strength with each of those contacts and companies, and associated information (e.g. contact information) with each other.

A data contributor must enable sharing for their relationships to be visible. If a data contributor is not sharing, those relationships will not be visible to their team members or count towards group-level scores.

Sharing approach

Relationship information is sensitive and subject to many business rules and human sensibilities. DotAlign is specifically architected to reflect these considerations:

  • Data contributors should have control over their information, via sharing settings
  • Companies should be able to limit who can be shared with
  • Some information should not be shareable - for example, the body of an email will not be shared, even when the most permissive sharing settings are enabled

For more information about how companies can manage which users can see one another's data, see About teams.

The default sharing level is configurable at deployment. Following deployment, each data contributor can choose to override that default, including increasing or decreasing how much they share. If a client does not specify a default sharing level at deployment, sharing in DotAlign will be based on an "opt-in" model, i.e. none of any data contributor's data is visible to a team until the contributor opts in to sharing.

Sharing settings

Each contributor is in control of their sharing settings. For each team that person belongs to, they can choose how much they want to share and even whether to share at all. This allows users to participate differently in each team to which they belong - just like in the real world. To manage share settings for a specific team, find that team in the Teams section of the app; the share settings will be available on that team's profile page.

Data contributors can choose from these basic sharing levels:

  • Not sharing (this is the default level if no other default was specified by the company at deployment)
  • Sharing relationships only
  • Sharing relationships, plus additional data such as contact information and/or interaction details

Opting in to sharing is not a permanent decision: you can change your share settings at any time. Lowering your share level will withdraw your data from the team.

Not sharing

None of a contributor's data is visible to the team until that person is sharing. This level can be thought of as an "observer" mode - users will nevertheless be able to see relationship data shared by other members.

Sharing relationships only

This is the basic sharing level. If a contributor chooses to share their relationships with the team, other team members will be able to see:

  • which people and companies the user knows
  • the user's relationship score with each of those people and companies
  • basic information such as job titles for the user's contacts

A user must opt in to share at this level or higher for their relationships to count towards group-level scores.

Sharing relationships and additional data

In addition to sharing the basic relationship information, a user may also choose to share any (or all) of the following types of data:

  • Contact information
  • Interaction details

These levels can be combined in any permutation, provided a contributor is already sharing relationships. For example, the contributor may share none of these additional types of data, all of them, or any combination in between.

Contact information

If a user chooses to share at this level, other team members will be able to see:

  • any phone numbers the user has for the people they know
  • any email addresses the user has for the people they know
Interaction details

If a user chooses to share at this level, other team members will be able to see:

  • details about specific touchpoints the user had with a particular person, such as when they met or when emails were exchanged
  • details about specific touchpoints the user had with a particular company, such as who they emailed or met with, and when
  • overall statistics, such as the number of meetings, inbound emails, and outbound emails between the user and a particular person or company
The content of specific emails or calendar events remain private, even when a user is sharing interaction details.


How Did We Do?